Fighting Fibromyalgia

Standard

I would like to share my experience with Fibromyalgia. I hope this may help anyone who suffers from it or who knows someone who suffers from it. Fibromyalgia is A chronic disorder characterized by widespread musculoskeletal pain, fatigue, and tenderness in localized areas. Fibromyalgia is the most common musculoskeletal condition after osteoarthritis.

More than 12 million Americans have fibromyalgia. Most of them are women ranging in age from 25 to 60. Women are 10 times more likely to get this disease than men. It is a disease that is just now being recognized more by doctors and Social Security added it to their list of disabilities as well. Having this disease also brings about other conditions that seem to go hand in hand. Some suffer from depression, anxiety and chronic fatigue to list a few.

Fibromyalgia is described by most as an all over ache. It’s what some call as a deep pain that can be disabling. There are tender points and they are all over the body. They are very painful to the touch.

Some patients with fibromyalgia have pain and archness around the joints in the neck, shoulder, back, and hips. This makes it difficult for them to sleep or exercise. Other fibromyalgia symptoms include:

  • abdominal pain
  • anxiety and depression
  • chronic headaches
  • difficulty maintaining sleep or light sleep
  • dryness in mouth, nose, and eyes
  • fatigue upon arising
  • hypersensitivity to cold and/or heat
  • inability to concentrate (called “fibro fog”)
  • incontinence
  • irritable bowel syndrome
  • numbness or tingling in the fingers and feet
  • stiffness

I was diagnosed approximately 9 years ago. I don’t believe it’s genetic. However, my mom also had it. Mine is extreme because there are 18 tender points all over the body. I have all 18. Many things can trigger some of the pain such as cold, damp weather, stress, exercise and disturbing sleep. When I was diagnosed they didn’t have any form of treatment besides physical therapy. About five years ago they discovered Lyrica, a medication for diabetics, that is believed to calm the nerves. This has made a drastic difference in my experience. Although it has disabled me, it has done good things for me too. For example, it has made me see all the good things around me and to be grateful for those. My family is really supportive and I can’t imagine getting through this on a daily basis without them.

Over the years this disease has forever changed my life. How depends on how you look at it. For many years I was looking at it the wrong way. Then the Lord showed me what he intended for me to see. Before I only saw my health and my life slipping through my hands and instead of doing something about it I just tried to stop it as if there were a switch to do so. After many years, tears, and deep pain in both ways I finally realized why God lead me down this path. I always carried so much guilt for feeling I was disappointing my family. I felt guilty for needing more help around the house, errands, etc. I felt guilty for the things we planned that I had to withdraw from due to pain. Fibromyalgia isn’t my only health issues. It’s just the beginning of it all.

Up until a year ago, I lugged that guilt around with me constantly. I had the epiphany that God wanted me to slow down. Before I was disabled I was working 70-80 hours a week. I never had time with my family. I realized He wanted me to appreciate what I do have around me. Not what I have wrong within me. It was a tough pill to swallow, figuratively speaking, to admit I’d been doing this all wrong for years. I apologized to my family and expressed how much I intended on changing. I have changed a lot and I’m quite proud of myself. It wasn’t easy to admit all the failure I had. But I don’t take anyone or anything for granted. If I want time with my family, I make time for them.

Some say you should never look back at the past. That you can’t move forward if you look back. They couldn’t be more wrong. Because I look back and see what I was missing out on and recreate any opportunities I can take advantage of. I look back and then look forward to a brighter future. I see what God has intended for me and I accept it graciously. For you must always trust His will. If you or someone you know suffers from Fibromyalgia, help them see what they’re likely missing out on. If you focus on pain you will never be pain-free. If you focus on happiness you will be pain free. Because in the end we all create our own happiness. It’s not pursued it’s persevered.

2 responses »

  1. I enjoyed reading your article about Fibromyalgia. I am a fibro sufferer as well. People with Fibromyalgia, usually look as healthy as anyone else. One would never know that our entire body is in 24/7 pain. We wear our smiles, and we still try to help others. Everyday I take a moment to give thanks for having another opportunity to breathe, inspite of all my pain. I begin my day by accepting the things that I cannot change, and just take one day at a time. People with Fibromyalgia suffer enough pain, so why add to it by carrying around bad attitudes that generate stress, and triggers more pain. Relax, breathe, and be grateful. This too shall pass.

    • I really appreciate your comment and you sharing your experience. That is the only reason I shared mine. Some of us have to find support outside of friends and family because Fibromyalgia sufferers often suffer in silence and still smile everyday. I also want to share how I cope with it and hope that it helps you and others. Ask your doctor if Lyrica would help. It’s a life-saver to me. I’ve been on it for about 5 years. It has some mild side effects like weight gain or swelling in hands and feet. And there is also a medication that helps you sleep at night and somewhat helps with the pain. Elavil. I’ve been on that since I was diagnosed. And we all know how important a good night’s rest is for us who suffer. Ask your doctor to see if these would benefit you. It’s worth a shot. I can’t tell you enough how happy I was to read your comment. I am grateful for every single day. We don’t have to live with Fibromyalgia, but rather live THROUGH it. 🙂

Leave a comment